The Notify field is unique for creating new topics. That is, after you create a topic for discussion, you can choose to notify some members of your team about the creation of this topic. In edit mode and topic view, this field is no longer available.
This notification in question overlaps individual user notification settings. For example, a user who has turned off the option to be notified about topic creation will automatically receive a notification about the new topic creation, if selected in the Notify field by the user who created the topic.
If you don’t want to receive notifications for every topics you create, you can choose to “follow” only the topics most relevant to you. For this, you have two options: either click on the Follow button for each topic individually, or access the list of existing topics and select the ones you wish to “follow”. This way, you will receive notifications of updates on the topics you “follow”.